• Home
  • About
    • About the IAJHSC
    • Executive Board
    • Feature Schools
    • Benefits of Membership
    • Join/Renew
  • Calendar
    • State Convention
    • Summer Camp
  • Forms
  • Awards & Recognition
  • Community Service
  • Advisor Central
  • Resources
  • Photos
  • Members' Area
  • Contact

Advisors, Create Your Own Story at the 2016 IAJHSC Advisors' Workshop!

Thursday, September 22 (7:00pm - 10:00pm) and
Friday, September 23 (8:30am - 2:00pm)

The Chateau Hotel & Conference Center
16212  Jumer Dr.
Bloomington, IL 61704
309-662-2020 (ask for the IAJHSC special room rate of $70/night (+12% tax = $78.40) when making your reservation; room rate includes continental breakfast)
Map and driving directions »

More Info/Registration »
(deadline to register is September 15!)

Leaders Create Their Own Story
Chosen as the 2016-17 IAJHSC State Theme

Stir Up Leadership

Your IAJHSC District Representatives have chosen "Leaders Create Their Own Story" as the 2016-17 state theme. Watch for more info to be posted here soon!



2016-17 IAJHSC Honor Council application now available!

From the Executive Director


August 31st, 2016  |  Posted by admin

Welcome back to another year of student activities!  Hopefully, you are off to a great start and are working to create a great year of projects and activities for your school.  Don’t ever doubt the value of the extra time you spend making your student council successful!  When a school has a great activities plan, the level of student achievement soars.

Congratulations go to our 2016 – 2017 District Representatives.  They attended Summer Leadership Camp and worked together to choose a new IAJHSC theme for this year.  The theme as you can see on the left is “Leaders Create Their Own Story!”  This new theme was an excellent choice!  It provides you and your council the opportunity to thematically write page after page of a successful novel for your council this year.  I hope you will take advantage of their hard work and get your story started now!

The IAJHSC Executive Board is beginning our story this year with the annual Advisors’ Leadership Workshop and Fall Executive Board meeting.  The workshop will be held at the Chateau Hotel and Conference Center in Bloomington, Illinois, on September 22nd and 23rd.  The board meeting will be held on the 23rd and 24th.  You should have already received registration information for the workshop.  If you did not, please contact Mr. Bob Hayes, Assistant Executive Director, right away, and he will make sure you receive it.  The information and registration form can also be found here on the website.

The workshop will be a two-fold experience.  There will be sessions conducted by board members on Thursday evening.  These will include new advisor orientation, IAJHSC information, and activity sharing.  On Friday, our guest presenter is Mrs. Terri Johnson, Executive Director of the Missouri Association of Student Councils.  She has an amazing collection of leadership activities which will help you get your council off to a roaring start and continue throughout the year.  Terri is super energetic and has a tremendous experience to share with us.  You will go home with so many new ideas that you won’t know which to choose first!  Don’t miss this fantastic opportunity to join with other IAJHSC advisors and get a great start to your new student leadership school year!!

Once again, on behalf of the IAJHSC 2016 – 2017 Executive Board, I wish you the best for the coming year.  Start planning now for the annual IAJHSC State Convention which will be held on April 21 – 22, 2017, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Convention Center in Springfield, Illinois.

Write on!!

Posted in News


Welcome New Members!

Mideast District
St. Paul's Lutheran School

Midwest District
Athens Jr. High School
Cantrall Intermediate School

Northeast District
John F. Kennedy Middle School

Home | About IAJHSC | Calendar | Forms & Documents | Awards & Recognition | Community Service | Advisor Central
Resources | Photos | Members' Area | Contact | Benefits of Membership | Join/Renew | Like Us on Facebook

© Illinois Association of Junior High Student Councils. All rights reserved.
Questions? Email Executive Director Bruce A. Small.

Web design by Dynamx Digital. Admin Login

Like IAJHSC on Facebook! Twitter